The locations of the Fuggers
Herrschaftorte der Fugger
Adelshofen, Aufhausen, Babenhausen, Bebenhausen, Bergheim, Biberbach, Bibersburg in Ungarn, Blumenthal, Bollweiler, Boos, Brandenburg, Buch, Burgwalden, Deisenhausen, Dietenheim, Duttenstein, Eppishausen, Gablingen, Glött, Göttersdorf, Grönenbach, Gundelsheim, Hainhofen, Heimertingen, Hilgartsberg, Hoheneck, Illerberg, Kettershausen, Kirchberg, Kirchheim, Kirrberg, Kleinkissendorf, Leeder, Leitershofen, Markt Wald, Mauerstetten, Mattsies, Mickhausen, Möhren, Mohrenhausen, Niederalfingen, Nordendorf, Obenhausen, Oberndorf, Pfaffenhofen, Pfirt, Reinhartshausen, Pleß, Rettenbach, Schmiechen, Schwabmünchen, Schwindegg, Seifertshofen, Stettenfels, Sulmentingen, Taufkirchen, Tiefenried, Tratzberg, Türkenfeld, Untersulmetingen, Waldberg, Waltenhausen, Wallerstetten, Wasserburg am Bodensee, Weißenhorn, Welden, Wellenburg, Wörth, Wullenstetten, Zinneberg

Some expressions which are common:
Hofmark: is the expression of a region which belonged to Bavaria but the adminstration was handeled by a count, in this case one of the counts Fugger. The size was different, it could be a small village or several big villages. The area could be closed that means all land in this area belonged to the same county or open, that means several counts were owner in a region. Sometimes more or less every house belonged to a different count or clergyman. The adminstration in Bavaria from the middle ages to 1848 had two types one was the areas which was adminstrated directly by the duke (later elector or king) of Bavaria, the other type was the Hofmark. The head of the Hofmark was also the head of the lower justice. He had to pay money to the duke of Bavaria and he got money or services by the people who had rented parts of his land. The Hofmark was no more in use after 1848 (new adminstration in Bavaria).
Herrschaft: is the expression of an area belonging to a count. Most of the Herrschaften were outside of the Bavaria in the boarders before 1806. The next upper adminstration unit were Reichskreise. We had only few Reichskreise in South Germany (Bavarian Kreis the same area as the state of Bavaria, Schwäbischer Kreis, almost all other areas outside of Bavaria and Austria). Most Herrschaften of the Fugger belonged to the Schwäbischer (Swabian) Kreis. The titel of the head of a Herrschaft was Freiherr (baron) or Graf (count). A county could be a Reichsfürstentum. At the end of the old state (at 1806) the title of the governor of a Reichsfürstentum was mainly prince (in German Fürst). The titles were granted by the emperor (see section Standeserhebungen und Gnadenakte für das deutsche Reich). Normally all wealthy people got one of the noble title if they want to have such a title and payed enough for it (until 1806 by the emperor in Vienna, later util 1918 by a king or the German emperor after 1871).
Reichsfürstentum: this area, normally much bigger than a Hofmark, was an area where the count, bishop, head of an abbey, lord etc. was the head not only for adminstration and law (lower and upper law, where upper law is defined for severe actions where a person could be punished with death) and where the head reported directly to the emperor. The smaller Reichfürstentümer like Babenhausen lost their independency 1803/1806 (Napoleon reorganized mainly South Gemany were the bigger countries like Bavaria, Baden and Wuerttemberg gained the land of the Reichsfürstentümer. The former owner of the Reichsfürstentum was now reporting to the king of Bavaria, Wuerttemberg etc. The emperor in Vienna resigned 1806.
Regierungsbezirk: the expression of a bigger area (nowadays 1 to 3 million inhabitants) is the next section in the adminstration in Bavaria. This form of administration was founded unter king Max I. and his chancellor Montgelas after 1806. Most of the Regierungsbezirke are more or less of the sime size since the beginning of the 19th century. Bavaria has now 7 Regierungsbezirke, the Fugger mainly had land in the Regierungsbezirk Schwaben (Bavarian Swabia) and some in Oberbayern (Upper Bavaria).
Kreis: the next lower section of administration. The Kreise were made in the beginning of the 19th century and changed in 1848. The size of the Kreis was constant for more than 100 years, it was changed about 1972 where the size of inhabitants was defined to be at least 80.000 people.
Sources: Haus der Bayerischen Geschichte
Haus der Geschichte Baden-Württemberg

Personenindex  ,  Quellen über die Fugger

Änderungsstand: 09-Dez-2012 Upd 05-Jun-2024